7 Virtues vs. 7 Deadly Sins


Virtue is defined as a particular moral ecellence or a commendable quality.

We love this section, simply because it is suddenly quite straight forward of what is good or bad. Once again, this section is one of these sections that varies, depending on source. We really prefer using the Latin phrases, simply because those are the "same" on a more constant basis than the translations.

Again, there are problems of translations, knowledge of language and time.

The seven deadly sins are even more interesting. Some call it "capital sins" but we prefer deadly to make them more serious. It is here we started using synonyms, as some of the words may not "mean" anything - it is just a word...

With the synonyms, suddenly, it becomes more understandable. More so, there are certain differences in "degree of seriousness" concerning a deadly sin!


in English


in Latin




in Latin


in English



  1. Humility

  2. Charity

  3. Kindness

  4. Patience

  5. Chastity

  6. Temperence

  7. Diligence

  1. Modesty/humbleness/Bravely

  2. Generosity/unselfishness/Helpfulness

  3. Compassion/Gratitude/favor

  4. Mercy / Tolerans Forgiveness

  5. Abstinence / Moral

  6. Humanity / Moderation

  7. Ethics / Fervour

  1. Humilitas

  2. Liberalitas / Caritas

  3. Humanitas

  4. Patientia

  5. Vitus / Castitas

  6. Temperantia

  7. Industria








  1. Superbia

  2. Avaritia

  3. Invidia

  4. Ira

  5. Luxuria

  6. Gula

  7. Acedia

  1. Pride

  2. Avarice

  3. Envy

  4. Wrath

  5. Lust

  6. Gluttony

  7. Sloth

  1. Arrogance / 

  2. Greed / Cheapness

  3. Covetousness /

  4. Revenge / Impatience

  5. Crave / Desire /

  6. Excessive ... /Indulgence

  7. Unconcern / Ignorance

The use of Latin is of advantage when going through these type of lists. It is very easy, as some of the words in each group have a similar meaning. "Kindness" for example, can be linked to both the 7 Virtues but also the Fruits of the Holy Spirit.

The fruits of the Holy Spirit are perfections formed in us as the first fruits of eternal glory. The tradition of the Church lists twelve of them: charity, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, generosity, gentleness, faithfulness, modesty, self-control, and chastity (Galatians 5:22-23, Vulgate

Copyright Statement:

© 2019 Society of the Holy Rosary. All Rights Reserved. 

This website and its content is copyright of prayrosary.info - © Society of the Holy Rosary 2019. All rights reserved.

Any redistribution or reproduction of part or all of the contents in any form is prohibited other than the following:

  • you may print or download to a local hard disk extracts for your personal and non-commercial use only
  • you may copy the content to individual third parties for their personal use, but only if you acknowledge the website as the source of the material

You may not, except with our express written permission, distribute or commercially exploit the content. Nor may you transmit it or store it in any other website or other form of electronic retrieval system.